Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Whiptail Lizards Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Whiptail Lizards Forum

Birdman88   Asher1027   Asher1027   Birdman88   Birdman88   Asher1027   Birdman88   Kelso reptiles   Asher1027   Kelso reptiles   Asher1027   Kelso reptiles   Birdman88   Kelso reptiles   Birdman88   Kelso reptiles   Dragondreamer   Birdman88  
 Member  Message

Birdman88
View Profile

Great Basin Whiptail

Ok I’ll go first.I’m a novice at keeping lizards, and have recently acquired 2 nice adult Whiptail here in the Death Valley area. There are no shortage of them and mine are very active and eating well. I have them in a 55 gal alone, I hope to eventually get some more after learning. What a great lizard to watch. I would love to learn about breeding them and would appreciate any advice. Should there be a harem? How do you sex them?
I also have 2 juvenile Side Blotch Lizards, , and 2 small Yellow Backed Spiny Lizards. There is an excellent lizard population around here, and I’m learning as much as possible. Is anyone breeding these? I see the juveniles around the house with blue tails and they are gorgeous! Hope to hear from you.
Len

07/08/11  11:35am

Asher1027
View Profile

Message To: Birdman88   In reference to Message Id: 2228027

Great Basin Whiptail

Could you post some pics of your great basin’s? I will get some of my pics of my checkard whiptails up soon.

07/08/11  01:50pm

Asher1027
View Profile

Message To: Birdman88   In reference to Message Id: 2228027

Great Basin Whiptail

I just look up Great Basin Whiptail on youtube and I found a vid that said he found them in Death vally CA, is this you? If so, awsome lizzards. For sexing, males have two small lumps on there vent, females dont. I dont really know anything about breeding yet.

07/08/11  01:57pm

Birdman88
View Profile

Message To: Asher1027   In reference to Message Id: 2228049

Great Basin Whiptail

Hi,
Thanks for you reply.