Water Dragons Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Water Dragons Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Maddyjustine   Saphiras mom   Milldabeast519  

Member  Message

Maddyjustine
View Profile

Water Dragon gaping and lethargy

Hello all! I recently acquired a Chinese Water Dragon, he is about 3 years old. His previous owner is going into the Marines, and asked me to take him in, which I was happy to do. He moved into our place about 2 days ago, which I imagine is very stressful for him. I have a few concerns because I am new to caring for water dragons and I want to make sure he is happy and healthy. His temps and humidity are closely monitored, his warm side around 85-90 degrees, never more than 95 in the hottest area, and they drop to the mid 70s at night. His humidity I try to keep around 80% overall. It drops at night when I’m not awake or home to mist, but I make sure all of my reptiles are misted at least 2x per day. It’s difficult to maintain a constant humidity of 80% in the winter in my area, but I’m doing all I can, and added a fogger to his tank today.

So far, of the 2 days I’ve had him, he doesn’t seem to be accepting any food items, not insects (live or not), fruit, or prey items like pinkies. I’m assuming he’s stressed from the move. How many days of him not accepting food before I should begin to worry? I understand adults eat every 2-3 days.

Also, he seems sort of lethargic, and he doesn’t seem to move from one spot all day unless I pick him up, then he’ll start maneuvering on my hand. But when I place him on a branch, or even in his pool, he doesn’t move for long periods of time (he sat on one branch the entire day, and it wasn’t even his basking area) At one point I put him in his pool because I was worried he was dehydrated and his head was under the water and he didn’t move it above the surface, which worried me quite a bit. Of course I moved him out of the pool.