Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Uromastyx Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Uromastyx Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

LizardGal13   Takahiro111   LookingforUro   Pocky   Uromastyxman  

Member  Message

LizardGal13
View Profile

Thinking of getting a lizard...any suggestions?

HI I’m new to repticzone....so ya the question is about what lizard to get...I’m new to owning lizards, as of right now I’m doing my research on which lizard to get.... My personal favorites are the red Niger Uromastyx and the bearded dragon...I fell in love with both...but its kinda hard to choose as you see I’m on a tight money budget...I did find a terrarium off of Craigslist, it’s a exo Terra 36" x18" x18" low terrarium..the owner said he can negotiate on the price on the terrarium and the things that come with it as well. I also know that uromastyx eat veggies and don’t need a lot of moisture while beardies are omnivores and need some moisture and can’t have sand....I don’t mind both but I need someone’s thought on these two like any other ideas or info on them so I know for the outcome...oh and I don’t mind if one can’t tolerate being handle than the other...I sorta did some rsearch and what’s the best substrate for them? :)

04/22/14  11:42pm

Takahiro111
View Profile

Message To: LizardGal13   In reference to Message Id: 2304768

If your new to owning a lizard I would suggest starting with abearded dragon. They bot like hot temps but I think the beardie gets slighty larger then the uro your talking about. But if you don’t like bugs or rodents then I guess the uro is right for ya lol.

04/23/14  07:57am

LookingforUro
View Profile

Message To: Takahiro111   In reference to Message Id: 2304770