Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Uromastyx Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Uromastyx Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Erinkayz   OverlordMaddy   Hippo130   LookingforUro   UROKEEPER  

Member  Message

Erinkayz
View Profile

Eating paper towels? Newbie Suggestions?

Okay, so I must admit I’m fairly new at this, but I’m pretty sure I’m going about it right. My Uro seems very healthy, and active.. but since I had him on a paper towel substrate he’s been eating and tearing up the paper towel! Is this common? Or more importantly, unhealthy? I took it out and put him on some reptile carpet for now, besides his arrangement of rocks he likes to climb on. I’m waiting for him to grow bigger and then I need to change his substrate again.. Suggestions?

I have more questions in the description of my Uro below...

1) How long have you owned the animal
- about one month

2) Dimensions of the enclosure you are using. Measure it- do not guess or give gallon size
- 36 x 18 x 13

3) Species (if known), length, and weight of the animal
- I’m actually not sure, maybe you can help me out with the species as well? He’s about 4.5-5 inches long, not sure how much he weighs but he’s gained weight since I got him? haha

4) Listing of all animals kept in the enclosure referred to in the post
- only Dabbs (my Uromastyx <3)

5) Basking spot temperature and how that temperature was measured.
- 105 degrees with a stick-on thermometer

6) Temperature throughout the rest of the enclosure (warm and cool areas) and how these temperatures were measured e.g. digital thermometer, stick on dial thermometer. Provide the nighttime temperatures as well.
- I have not measured the temperature on the other side of the cage, however, I’d guess around 85-90 degrees within distance to the heat source. The night time temperature ranges from 70-75 degrees.