Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Tree Frogs Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Tree Frogs Forum

Phantom2921   Sparkey!   Whitie   Phantom2921   Rrrragdoll  
 Member  Message

Phantom2921
View Profile

Need Fast Answers!

Hey guys, I’m about to go to PetsMart in like a few hours and I need some info.

Can live plants grow in bed-a-beast or any coco bedding?
The live plants in the fish area, are all of them okay with White’s?
Do silk plants help hold water for humidity?

I have $50 dollars to spend and I want to upgrade the tank a little. I need to change the bedding and strip the tank. Don’t worry, I will NOT use soap. It’s a big no-no. I just want it seem more like "home" for him.

*Also, I tried green paper backing instead of brown, and he’s turning more green. I’m just exciting since I’m still learning.

01/20/08  10:38am

Sparkey!
View Profile

Message To: Phantom2921   In reference to Message Id: 1586688

Need Fast Answers!

Plant Will Grow In Coco bedding and some plants will grow directly in water. and silk plant hold water pretty well

01/20/08  11:55am

Whitie
View Profile

Message To: Phantom2921   In reference to Message Id: 1586688

Need Fast Answers!

Most of the plants that are sold at pet stores are for fish aquariums, they would be safe for your frogs, but they need to be in water.
There are several plants that you can put in the bedding that will grow well. Just make sure you rinse them well, roots and leaves both sides before planting. Make sure you have a layer of gravel under the bedding so the roots will have plenty of drainage or you will get root rot. Live plants are better for helping with the humidity.
Pothos are good for your tank and they grow quickly. You want to pick the plants that are strong, cause these little chubby guys and be rough on small plants. I have found pothos less expensive at a grocery store, then at Walmart or anywhere else.