Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Tortoises Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Tortoises Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Sandboaking   Cphill58   Pmullen   Sandboaking   Pmullen   Sandboaking   Pmullen   Rokdog   Sandboaking  

Member  Message

Sandboaking
View Profile

Trying to pick a species

Hi, I have a lot of experience with reptiles, and I’ve been doing a lot of research about torts. I finally decided to take the plunge. But I’m just not sure what type is best for me. Space isn’t an issue. I have a whole room I can devote in the winter and a whole safe yard for the summer. I’ve heard redfoots and sulcatas can be the most outgoing and curious, but what do you think? What would you recommend?

12/20/12  11:27pm

Cphill58
View Profile

Message To: Sandboaking   In reference to Message Id: 2288038

Trying to pick a species

Come over to the iguana forum and talk / ask there ....jesse / Tempestborn is quite knowledgeable as well as others

12/24/12  04:46pm

Pmullen
View Profile

Message To: Cphill58   In reference to Message Id: 2288223

Trying to pick a species

there are different types of tortoises so its hard to recommend one. some hibernate, others dont. depends on which you prefer. the mediterranean species i suppose are the most obvious choice but it really depends. keep researching specific tortoises needs.

01/04/13  05:00pm

Sandboaking
View Profile

Message To: Pmullen   In reference to Message Id: 2288867

Trying to pick a species

I really don’t want anything that requires a lot of humidity, so I guess none of the tropicals/rainforest. Honestly I’d rather not hibernate unless I had to. I really like pancakes, but they’re sooooo hard to find. I’m trying to avoid russians because of all the negative stuff I’ve heard.

01/07/13  04:51pm

Pmullen
View Profile

Message To: Sandboaking   In reference to Message Id: 2289048

Trying to pick a species