Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Tadpoles Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Tadpoles Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Akd1217   Breezy420   Akd1217   Breezy420   Akd1217   Breezy420   Breezy420   Lovefrogs   Lovefrogs   Lovefrogs  

Member  Message

Akd1217
View Profile

Lots of Tadpole Questions

Hi there. My name is Ashley. My son and I were recently given 6 tadpoles. 5 are bullfrog, and the last one is something i dont know. Lots smaller and a darker color than the bullfrog ones. I have a lot of questions, as I am a newbie at this, and was excited to find this board. First, the smaller tadpole has an air bubble in his belly, and is floating upside down much like explained in other posts. I wondered if there is anything I can do for him. I also wondered about the tank and water changes. I hear water changes can be fatal to tadpoles, and I have been told not to do complete water changes, but if I dont, the poop sits at the bottom of tank, and these guys seem to poop a lot. Lol. Is a filter recommended or not? I wanted to get some gravel and live plants for them, but the thought of trying to clean the tank with those things present deterred me from doing so. We have them in a 10 gallon tank, and our largest pole just sprouted back legs. How long before his lungs form and he needs to climb out of the water? What shall I use to allow him to do that and allow the other tads to have the space to swim. Thank you in advance for any advice given.

04/28/12  11:11am

Breezy420
View Profile

Message To: Akd1217   In reference to Message Id: 2264590

Hello, I live and work at a bait shop in minnesota and we come accross tadpoles in our bait supply and I have a habit of saving them and letting them go when they are frogs. :)