Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Rodents-Keeping and Breeding Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Rodents-Keeping and Breeding Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Prettygirlpittie   Greatballzofire   Monster545   Greatballzofire   Monster545   Greatballzofire   PrettyBoy   Veronica _V  

Member  Message

Prettygirlpittie
View Profile

Rat and mouse breeding questions.

Okay so I am new to breeding, I own two snakes and I live over an hour from anywhere that sells rodents, so I decided to breed my own. Here are my questions.

How long do rats and mice gestate?

My female rat’s normal weight is 240g, about how much do they gain within the first week of being pregnant?

How long should I keep the male and female rats together?Until she starts showing?

How old do rats reach sexual maturity?

How do you tell the difference between a male and female baby rat?

With mice, are they the same as rats within the sense that I need to remove the males when the females give birth? I am only asking because I have seen pet stores in the past that keep them together.

Thats all my questions for now. Thank you,
LaiLanni

02/01/10  12:24am

Greatballzofire
View Profile

Message To: Prettygirlpittie   In reference to Message Id: 2119228

Breeding Data-Mice

Sexual maturity 7 weeks
Estrous cycle frequency 4-5 days
Duration of estrus 10 hours
Time of ovulation 2-3 hrs after estrus onset (spontaneous)
Gestation period 19-21 days
Avg. litter size 6-12
Begins eating dry food 12-14 days
Age at weaning 21 days
Breeding life 8 months
Life span 2.5 years

Leave the male mouse with his ladies. He will help raise the young and will keep them warm. With mice kept as pets it is recommended to remove the male after breeding as the females will go into estrus right away after birth and get pregnant again, but for feeder mice you want the production to continue.

Sexing Rats:
Link