Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Pythons Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Pythons Forum

Tomias01   Tomias01   Dracen knights   Tomias01   Dracen knights   MarkJohnson   Tomias01   Dracen knights  
 Member  Message

Tomias01
View Profile

Enclosure size

Hey all, I am new to pythons, and a guy i know that works at petsmart is selling his carpet. Its seven foot long and was just wondering how large an enclosure i should build for it. I asked him but i do not think he nows his stuff as he says the python is happy in a 20 gal long aquarium. I know this isnt right because my coastal hatchling is only 2 1/2 feet and thats what i keep him in, i couldn’t imagine what that poor snake is going through.

please help as i would love to rescue the snake from its current owner, i just want to make sure it isnt going to be worse off here.

12/23/10  09:19pm

Tomias01
View Profile

Message To: Tomias01   In reference to Message Id: 2194078

Enclosure size

Well, the guy dropped the snake off today in a large sterilite tub he had drilled holes in and put an undertank heater on. I already have a nice boaphile tank on order for it and that should be here in a week or so, and heres pics of J.D. the carpet python.

I wouldn’t normally use gloves, but the snake was rather testy and had to change the newspaper in the tub. Only struck once though and when i got him/her in my hands he/she calmed down immediately.

01/09/11  06:06pm

Dracen knights
View Profile

Message To: Tomias01   In reference to Message Id: 2197335

Enclosure size

very nice looking snake.... btw to help keeping from getting struck you might want to get a snake hook... touch him with it for a minute then slowly reach in and grab him by his body...none of my snakes have struck at me sense I started this routine.