Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Monitors Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Monitors Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Dominako   Varanus_odom   Dominako   Crocdoc   Milkweed666   Dominako   Dominako   Dominako   Dp525   Mdf   Dominako  

Member  Message

Dominako
View Profile

Enlighten Me!

Hey guys, Dom again. I have some questions! I am by no means new to reptiles but I am new to monitors. I had recently posted about my oddly relaxed Nile Monitor, Axel. Now when I handle him he is quite warm but he lets me pet him and rub under his chin. I know he is not thinking "I love this human!" but do you think he will allow this all his life or should I stop taking him out to pet him. I bought a Nile to have a bad reptile and not a play thing but I am quite enjoying the fact that he trusts me so much. Give me your opinions!

05/16/12  10:22am

Varanus_odom
View Profile

Message To: Dominako   In reference to Message Id: 2266585

Enlighten Me!

He can become tolerable of your presence but then he could also despise your presence. Stephen Foo (member here) keeps a big feisty Nile and it seems to want to rip his head off in every photo! Your little guy is showing good signs though. As far as the chin rubbing, some don’t seem to mind it and other lizards seem to think you’re getting too close to their chomper. My Albig would let me give him a quick rub under the chin when he was small too but if I do it now he puts his head down and opens his mouth to bite or he’ll turn away his head and walk away for a sec. Each individual monitor has it’s own personality, and you should know your individual lizard better than the rest of us. They are pretty demonstrative lizards.

05/16/12  11:27am

Dominako
View Profile

Message To: Varanus_odom   In reference to Message Id: 2266587

Enlighten Me!