Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Leopard Gecko Community Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Leopard Gecko Community Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Kcard5   LanieFaith   Celewing  

Member  Message

Kcard5
View Profile

When to turn heating lamp on and off?? New to this and need help!

Hello! I am new to owning a leopard gecko. It is only 3 months old. I’m having ahead time figuring out when to turn the heating lamp on and off.. I keep reading that the warm side should be between 80 and 90 during the day and the cool side should be 70 to 75 during the day. I do have an under the tank mini heater on the warm side. I recently went into a pet store and she said she turns the lamp on from 7pm to 7am and to not turn it on during the day be side it will overheat my gecko. But when I do that the tank during the day ranges between 70 and 80, meanwhile, I see that it can be in the lower 70s at night. I’m so confused! When should the red light be on and when should it be shut off? I don’t want to over heat her but I don’t want her to be too hot or too cold. Please help!

09/21/17  10:02am

LanieFaith
View Profile

Message To: Kcard5   In reference to Message Id: 2321292

First off, you shouldn’t even have lamps. They are way too bright for your geckos eyes. It’s just like staring right into the sun but 3x worse because of their vision.(Plus they only take in heat from their bellies) And I have a leo that is two. She does just fine with room temp. She just goes to where it is warm when she needs it. So.. lamp-- no. Room temp and heat mat-- okay

09/29/17  08:13am

Celewing
View Profile

Message To: LanieFaith   In reference to Message Id: 2321329