Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Legless Lizards Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Legless Lizards Forum

KAP10CAVY   Reptilesrock   Bringiton   Cameron V.   Cameron V.   Cameron V.   Bridgette  
 Member  Message

KAP10CAVY
View Profile

Russian legless lizards

Does anyone here keep these critters?
I have been offered two and need to know the basics to help me decide if I want them or not.
They seem healthy and active but I have no experience with these critters, so what do I know?
I need to know cage requirements, temps, diet and substrate.
And anything you want to add.

Scott

06/12/05  01:30am

Reptilesrock
View Profile

Message To: KAP10CAVY   In reference to Message Id: 369007

Russian legless lizards

Enclosure: A 20-gallon long aquarium is the minimum size recommended for these lizards, though larger is often recommended. Hiding places should be provided as well as rocks or branches to provide climbing areas.

Temperature: Daytime temperatures should be maintained between 70 to 85 F. Nighttime temperatures can be maintained approximately 10 F lower at 60 to 75 F.

Heat/Light: Heat can be provided by a number of different means, including red heat bulbs, basking lights, or ceramic emitters. Be sure to provide a photoperiod of approximately 12 hours daily. If using a red heat bulb or ceramic emitter, the photoperiod can be provided with a standard fluorescent bulb. There is no information requiring UVB for these lizards but some natural sunlight may be beneficial for this species.

Substrate: A 50/50 mix of sterilized soil and tropical play sand mix is often the best substrate to use with this species. This will most closely resemble their natural habitat and can usually be easily spot cleaned.

Environment: In the wild, these legless lizards come from a fairly dry environment and often can be found along rocky hillsides with many places available for cover.