Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to King Snakes Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

H2O Girl   Cphill58   H2O Girl   Cphill58   Herper01  

Member  Message

H2O Girl
View Profile

Shedding Frequency

Hey there,

I was given a Cali King on May 30, 2015 and it was total love at first sight. I swear it’s like this snake was bred just for me and my 5-year-old son (especially me lol). But I’m brand new to being a snake owner. So far/so good. He’s just over a year old by a month or two. He shed the week of June 21. I’ve read that kings his age shed about every 3 months or so but he seems to be showing signs that he’s almost ready to shed again. Hi skin is dull, he’s slothful and rubbery, and this morning his eyes looked a bit cloudy but not for long. Last time he shed it was a long process... his eyes were a bit cloudy at first, then normal for another week or so, then completely blue for a couple of days on the week of his shed. So it took about a month for him to shed. Is it possible that he could be shedding again? Or could something be wrong? He wasn’t eating enough with his previous owner; no wonder she gave him up so quickly because of SLIGHTLY agressive behavior (no snapping, just obviously wanting more food when she opened the cage. He’s well fed now and has normal bowel movements, etc. He’s as happy as a snake can be. He should have been begging for food by today but he’s not. And that’s what happened last time he shed. He still ate but his request for food was further apart than normal. Am I being overly concerned? Do snakes possibly shed more in the summertime? (I should just google that question but I’ve found the best answers on this forum.) Or could he just be growing more rapidly now that he is eating the proper amount? Any advice you can give me would be great! I’m a newbie but I feel like I know him well by now. I just don’t want to miss something important and lose this amazing, beautiful, sweet little guy.