Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

King Snakes Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to King Snakes Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Ireland77   Takahiro111   Cphill58   Ireland77   Cphill58   Ireland77   Takahiro111   Ireland77   Takahiro111   Ireland77   Takahiro111   Amandaf   Takahiro111  

Member  Message

Ireland77
View Profile

Convincing my mother

Hey guys, I’m new to this and I want to get a kingsnake for my b-day in a few months but my mom is a little hesitant to get me one due to them being escape artists and us having 2 cats and a big dog. I know an escape proof viv is recommended and that they can still get out. Is there anything I can do or say that will ease my mom’s worries?

02/03/15  10:15am

Takahiro111
View Profile

Message To: Ireland77   In reference to Message Id: 2312156

Convincing my mother

I have gigantic reptiles and the #1 thing I told my mom is that I would have cage locks that has to be opened with a key but ofcourse it had to be built but tell her you’ll get cage clip locks and show her good vids of the snake.

02/03/15  10:08pm

Cphill58
View Profile

Message To: Takahiro111   In reference to Message Id: 2312164

Convincing my mother

I had my first snake at 12 years old ... a Calif King. I love them to this day. They can not get out of this particular style cage that has self locking plastic tabs on the top ....let me find a picture for you.

dragon forum with tank pictures

Another thing I do is go to the fabric store and purchase the adhesive velcro... 1 part on the lid (In 4 corners) and the other part on the glass. This works great for all my 5 foot kings and bull snakes.

My mom always promoted our hobbies and encouraged us I hope yours does the same.

locking clips

Pet Co and other stores all have locking clips in various styles... go into the store and see what works for you.

02/04/15  09:05pm

Ireland77
View Profile