Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Insects-Keeping and Breeding Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Insects-Keeping and Breeding Forum

S(aint)   S(aint)   Michiemm   Ledroc567   Slove1106  
 Member  Message

S(aint)
View Profile

First Time Breeding Mealworms In A 10g? Help Please!

This is my first post on this site so take it easy lol

I’ve been looking around these forums about breeding these things in tubs and critter cages and such, but can someone make me a detailed (I’ve never attempted to breed anything) explanation on these critters? I have two spare ten gallons, and I was hoping that I could seperate one and put a screen over the top to keep the beetles from flying out? Also, pictures of what the stages should each look like (if their alive and well) would be really helpful too. Like I said, I’ve never done this before and anything about housing, temp., food, or anything else would be very VERY helpful.

07/26/08  01:03am

S(aint)
View Profile

Message To: S(aint)   In reference to Message Id: 1809064

Whoops, it’s a bit early lol. I also have two Critter Carriers and am willing to buy other enclosures if it would be better. I’ve heard that smaller containers mean they breed more. Oh, and if it is okay to use the tank, should I put black paper on the sides so it’s darker?

07/26/08  01:18am

Michiemm
View Profile

Message To: S(aint)   In reference to Message Id: 1809074

Hey, i dont have any pics but i hope i can help out...

Mealworms have four stages... egg, Larva(worm), pupa and beatle.

Start with about 50-100 worms and stick them in your container with a couple inches of oats for substrate... From what i understand the worms will pupate without having to do anything... (unlike the superworms, which you have to seperate) Once they turn into a pupa, seperate them into another container and keep an eye on them because once they then turn into a beatle you have to stick them in another contaner.