Iguanas Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Iguanas Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Keepsake   Cphill58   Keepsake   Cphill58  

Member  Message

Keepsake
View Profile

Temperature/behavior question

I got my iguana about three weeks ago, (this is my first time caring for a reptile) and everything has gone surprisingly well.
But recently, it’s started staying away from it’s basking light. When it’s heat lamp is on(95-100° air temp), it stays under it’s red night light(about 80° air temp) or hides around or under a rock. At night, it avoids the red light and stays on the other side of the tank(70-60° maybe less)

I’ve picked it up(it’s body feels cold) and put it under either light when i see it, and it doesn’t seem to mind staying there, but when i go back and check on it later, it’s somewhere else again.

I’ve been keeping it’s food dish full, and it’s eating (what i assume is) well. I’m pretty sure it’s been drinking too. It doesn’t like the mist from the mister i have for it(set up next to the red night lamp) but i only leave it on for about a half an hour at a time (30%air humidity (not enough, but it doesn’t like the mist, and the machine burns through water like crazy) )

[ 30 by 12 by 12(/18?) Terrarium (going to move into a bigger one when it grows some more) decorated with rocks from a creek near my house (boiled for a half an hour to kill any microorganisms.) A jade plant with some moss, a few small shoots of bamboo, and it’s cleaned/redecorated weekly + spot cleaning any feces.]
[ diet of collared greens, mustard greens, rainbow chard + small amounts of shreded fruits and vegtables(still learning what it likes to eat) ]
[ Temp and humidity already covered ]

02/02/15  11:28pm

Cphill58
View Profile

Message To: Keepsake   In reference to Message Id: 2312152