Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Horses Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Horses Forum

Ammeratsu   Ammeratsu   CelticTigeress   Ammeratsu   Ammeratsu  
 Member  Message

Ammeratsu
View Profile

Debating How to Begin Training

I have a 3 year old welsh pony named Ember. She had no training when we first got her. I taught her to lunch and am now lunging her with tack(not in the last week, though, as I’ve contracted that nasty swine flu). My mom(been riding for 30 years) thinks she’s ready to carry a rider.
ll
But what’s the best way to start? I’m not experienced, but I feel like I know Ember better than anyone(since I taught her the lunge line and have done a lot of groundwork and just sitting in her stall and watching her and in pasture).

My mom wants me to lay across the saddle while she’s on the lungeline and just have her walk and maybe trot. I wouldn’t have a problem doing so, but I think this would scare her.
I want to just sit on her and have my mom lead her around the arena at a walk for the few times, and I want to do it bareback.

Ember had a bad experience with her last owner where she had a 9 year old kid get on and walk and trot and canter her with no prior training whatsoever. Needless to say, she ended up spinning around and bolting, which threw the kid off. But it scared her so bad, and she lost confidence for a while.

So based on this, where should we start with carrying a rider?

10/14/09  08:29pm

Ammeratsu
View Profile

Message To: Ammeratsu   In reference to Message Id: 2084014

Quote:

I taught her to lunch and am now lunging her with tack

LUNGE, not lunch. My bad. xDD

By the way, I ride English.

10/14/09  08:31pm

CelticTigeress
View Profile

Message To: Ammeratsu   In reference to Message Id: 2084015

Depends on the Horse