Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Horses Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Horses Forum

CrestieLuvR   Lex123   CelticTigeress   CrestieLuvR   CelticTigeress   CrestieLuvR   Montessa_Python   CrestieLuvR  
 Member  Message

CrestieLuvR
View Profile

Color fading... I need your secrets.

Before I started riding Misty, her coat was solid black. She lives in a turnout area with lots of shelter in a herd of mares. She was so solid black I assumed her coat was unfading black. I noticed she started to get dandruff, so I started giving her a quarter cup of ground flax seed with every bucket of grain I gave her (every day to every other day). Now that I’ve gotten to the point of working her everyday, her color has faded drastically to a light, caramel brown around where the saddle goes. I still give her the flax, her skin is getting healthier and her coat, shinier, I just dont know what to do about that color fading so drastically just since March-ish (when I started riding her). After a really sweaty workout I hose her off, and I bathed her once in March and once a few weeks ago using original forumla Mane and Tail shampoo. Nothing out of the ordinary.

I guess I am just wondering, what are your secrets to making sure the black stays as black as possible

She went from this...

Same living conditions, same everything, the only difference is she is getting worked, loved, spoiled with hugs and kisses, and fed grains so she can put on weight. All good things, right? I dont get it!

To this....

I just dont understand! Her all around well being has increased drastically! She’s the greatest horse I’ve ever met, I’m just confused about it!

07/27/09  03:33pm

Lex123
View Profile

Message To: CrestieLuvR   In reference to Message Id: 2046162