Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Horned Lizards Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Horned Lizards Forum

Krrristi   Kelso reptiles   Cyot75  
 Member  Message

Krrristi
View Profile

Paraplegic baby ghl!

I work as a biologist on construction sites in Southern Nevada, mainly protecting the desert tortoise. 2 days ago I found a baby ghl laying upside down in a recently bulldozed area. He has what looks like a hunchback straight from Notre Dame, and no use, apparent feeling, or movement in his lower back and legs. He gets around with a cutest little army crawl. Every hour or so he manages to flip himself upside down and can’t get back upright without help...obviously, he won’t make it a day out in the desert. I realize ghl are super hard to care for but really, what other chance does this little guy have? I work out in the desert, so I’ve been taking him near harvester ant hills for buffets, but he’s not so into it. When I put 2 or 3 in his tank, they disappear eventually but I have to constantly watch and make sure they aren’t eating him...he can’t feel it when they do! He’s probably eaten only 5-8 ants per day...is this enough for a baby? What else can I do? He doesn’t have much interest in anything but sleeping, although he does occasionally perk up to bask.

Any help at all would be appreciated. I am a biologist but have no experience with reptiles other than turtles, but I am really wanting to give this guy a good chance. I set my alarm 4 times last night to flip him over, I’m doing my best to get him to eat....but I need help!

04/01/11  01:28am

Kelso reptiles
View Profile

Message To: Krrristi   In reference to Message Id: 2212457

Paraplegic baby ghl!

no offence but you arnt really a bioligst because bioligist study all tipes of animals and plants
there a name for peoplewho study just turtles
also what is a ghl
also horned lizards eat up to 100 ants a day

04/01/11  10:33pm

Cyot75
View Profile