Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Horned Lizards Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Horned Lizards Forum

Orc Bow Man   00Penguin   Blue eyes   Orc Bow Man   Orc Bow Man   00Penguin   Flip21   Orc Bow Man   BoaBabe448   00Penguin   Orc Bow Man   Flip21   Dragón_Dorado   Orc Bow Man   Dragón_Dorado   Bigbuck20145   Cable_Hogue   Bigbuck20145   Fireside3   MICHELANGELO   Dallas0218   Benjamin   Ajay   Benjamin   Fireside3   Brian McClintock   Reptile12   Dallas0218   Reptile12   Dallas0218  
Pages 1 2 Next
 Member  Message

Orc Bow Man
View Profile

Any one else got a short horned lizard?

I am new to taking care of thes amazing animals and wanted to know if anyone else had any pointers.

09/21/04  06:42pm

00Penguin
View Profile

Message To: Orc   In reference to Message Id: 146615

Aren’t they illegal? Where did you get it? "Two of the three species of horned lizards (horned "toads") occurring in Texas are protected from being taken, possessed, transported, exported, sold, or offered for sale. This protection is afforded under the same protected nongame (threatened) species regulations that protect the Texas tortoise.

The three species are known as the Texas horned lizard (Phrynosoma cornutum), the mountain short horned lizard (P. douglassii hernandesi), and the roundtail horned lizard (P. modestum). The roundtail horned lizard is the only naturally occurring horned lizard in Texas not protected under state regulations. Of the three, the Texas horned lizard has the greatest range in the state and is therefore much better known. All feed heavily on ants and the roundtail horned lizard utilizes this, food source almost entirely. The others consume other insects and arthropods as available, to vary their diet from ants.