Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Horned Lizards Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Horned Lizards Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

73charger   Phrynosoma_Texas_FS3   73charger   Fred Jones   Phrynosoma_Texas_FS3   Phrynosoma_Texas_FS3   Phrynosoma_Texas_FS3   73charger   Phrynosoma_Texas_FS3   73charger   Phrynosoma_Texas_FS3   Ladyclink   Doug2   Laxkeep   Reptilehandlertyrell   WFReptileRescue  

Member  Message

73charger
View Profile

Elementary teacher looking for horned toads for classroom and home.

I am an elementary teacher in Oklahoma. When I was younger, we used to find these little guys by the hundreds on our playgrounds. Now I can not remember the last time I saw one in the wild. Several years ago, a student ordered several horned toads and was gracious enough to let me set up a habitat in my classroom of 2nd graders so we could observe and learn about these wonderful yet disappearing animals of Oklahoma. We had them all year and they were the hit of the school! I have changed schools and I am looking for several horned toads to have here in my home for my own boys to learn about and appreciate. I had such a great time learning about them and even having the ants was pretty neat. I had a student with emotional problems and the ants and the horny toads where the only things that could calm him.
If you know where I might purchase some horned toads all information would be much appreciated. I donít remember exactly where these horned toads came from but Iím thinking New Mexico or Arizona. All and any information is appreciated. Itís nice to know there are others that think these guys are pretty cool. My mom didnít think it was too cool when I would bring home 4 or 5 young ones in an old milk carton from school! She always made me let them go in her garden. Such fun memories and appreciation I would like to pass on to other children.

06/04/07  12:29am

Phrynosoma_Texas_FS3