Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Hermit-Crabs Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Hermit-Crabs Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Ashmash   Sorpionlova   Ashmash   Sorpionlova   Sorpionlova   Ashmash   Sorpionlova   Sorpionlova   Ashmash   Lizards and more   Lizards and more   Ashmash   Sorpionlova   Krae2341  

Member  Message

Ashmash
View Profile

Pictures

Some of my hermits and their crabitat. Let’s share pictures!

08/06/11  12:49pm

Sorpionlova
View Profile

Message To: Ashmash   In reference to Message Id: 2231964

Pictures

I am new with hermit crabs and i only had these two for 2 days now. There in a 10 Gallon tank for now. i hope to go bigger eventually.

Heres the tank.

This is Aubergine the female.

And this is Shogun, the male.

Both of them.

08/07/11  08:05am

Ashmash
View Profile

Message To: Sorpionlova   In reference to Message Id: 2232039

Pictures

You should ditch the wood chips/shavings and get eith some play sand (from home depot or lowes, meant of kid sand boxes) or some eco earth coc fiber (the stuff that comes in the brick and expands with water). The wood is going to stab them when they try to dig and cause major stress and injuries. Keep the sand at ’sand-castle’ consistency and the ee moist but not dripping if you squeeze it.

Get some deeper water dishes so that your largest crab is able to submerge and get rid of the sponges. Get a digital thermometer and hydrometer. The temp needs to be inbetween 72-80 defrees F and the humidity needs to stay right at 80.

To help keep the humidity up you can spritz the cage with a water bottle a few times a day and keep a moist towel over the lid.

Best of luck!

08/09/11  10:30am

Sorpionlova
View Profile

Message To: Ashmash   In reference to Message Id: 2232273

Pictures

Should I get a deeper dish or fresh water too?

08/10/11  04:15pm

Sorpionlova
View Profile