Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Geckos Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Geckos Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Jake01   Takahiro111   KrazyKelli   Gnurph  

Member  Message

Jake01
View Profile

Can I keep a Western Banded Gecko in the same terrarium as a Horned Lizard?

I found a juvenile horned lizard last weekend and started a vivarium. Tonight, in our house, I found a juvenile Western Banded Gecko. Can the Gecko and Horned Lizard live together in the same vivarium or is that a bad match?

My lizard background:
I am new to keeping lizards, and started a vivarium a few days ago for my young daughter and me to enjoy together. I have been reading voraciously to be a responsible caretaker, including finding this wonderful site.
I found a juvenile horned lizard over this past weekend while camping. I spoke with a few people I know who keep lizards and with the local pet store clerks and got input. I bought the tank, put down some big rocks, then pebbles, then a 1.5" layer of sand, and covered that with a 1" layer of soil taken from the spot where I found the lizard, along with several young ferns for habitat, and a few rocks. I intend to build an outdoor mesh habitat this coming weekend, per the advice of this website, since I am in Phoenix and the temperature is perfect for the horned lizard... I’m thinking that if the horned lizard is kept outdoors, maybe the gecko could still be kept indoors...

any thoughts or advice are welcome! thank you in advance!

09/06/13  02:26am

Takahiro111
View Profile

Message To: Jake01   In reference to Message Id: 2300914

If the gecko is wild caught then no because the gecko may have infections that can hurt your other lizard

09/06/13  07:21pm

KrazyKelli
View Profile

Message To: Jake01   In reference to Message Id: 2300914