Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Geckos-Golden Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Geckos-Golden Forum

R0arshach   KrazyKelli  
 Member  Message

R0arshach
View Profile

Gecko wont eat, or move

So yesterday was my birthday, and as a gift my girlfriend got me a 20 litre tank with a golden gecko. This is the first reptile ive owned so Im still learning some stuff. I got the lamp and the heat pad to one side of the aquarium, and I keep the temperature to 75ish at all times (leave the light on 24/7) thats what the guy at the store told me. So I got him on thursday, and apparently they fed him that day, so I thought I wouldnt have to feed him for a while.

After I got him settled in and everything I went to petsmart to get crickets. When I was there I thought it would be a good idea to get another gecko from the aquarium he was in at the petstore, just so he has some "company". So I got crickets, and I got a white lined gecko. I got home and put the white lined gecko in and I put 4 crickets in.

This is when I realized my golden gecko seems to be very timid and stressed. It had barely moved at all all day. Then when I put the crickets in the white lined gecko instantly ran around the aquarium and ate 3 of the crickets before the golden gecko even moved. The last cricket walked right onto the golden geckos leg and he didnt even budge. So I took him out and put him in a small container with 2 crickets, and he still didnt do anything.

I put him back in and hes now sat under a log for the rest of the day without moving. The white lined gecko even walked right ontop of him and sat on top of him for a solid 20 minutes and the golden gecko didnt do a thing.

tl;dr?

If not then is this normal behavior for a golden gecko? If not what would the problem be?