Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Fish Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Fish Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Lizardchic   Allielover   VengeoftheStars   Lizardchic   VengeoftheStars   Lizardchic  

Member  Message

Lizardchic
View Profile

New tank!yay!

What fish can live with betas?

I’m trying to make a new tank,I’m not a novice so hard fish to take care of are fine.i have a 5gallon.

09/17/13  04:11pm

Allielover
View Profile

Message To: Lizardchic   In reference to Message Id: 2301190

New tank!yay!

is there a filter? I know its bad, but I once kept 3 male guppies in a 1gallon tank without a filter and then 6 in the same tank with a filter added. don’t take mixing male and female guppies together lightly, or getting pregnant females. a few parents will eat the fry, but most wont. one spring I ended up with 137babys from 2 females. you can mix other live bearers too, but sometimes they will nip at delicate fins. catfish are good too, and you can also mix other labyrinth fish with them like gouramis. basically you want calm fish, not hyper fish with bettas. low powers filters too.

11/05/13  12:57am

VengeoftheStars
View Profile

Message To: Lizardchic   In reference to Message Id: 2301190

New tank!yay!

I have kept betas with Cory cats and african dwarf frogs. You can also put them in with small fish that have no flowy fins or bright colors like white clouds or zebra danios. I would say no go on guppies.

Remember every beta is different and some will attack ANYTHING. Before you commit to a fish with him put it in a clear glass of water and lower that into his tank, he will think its really in there and you will see his immediate reaction. Even if he doesnt attack it right away though, you may find it dead in the morning.
Every beta is different.