Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Collard Lizards Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Collard Lizards Forum

Corbinscoots   JackAsp   Corbinscoots   JackAsp   Corbinscoots  
 Member  Message

Corbinscoots
View Profile

New to collards !!!

im new to collard lizards and was wondering just about the basic stuff like tank size for a breeding pair, temp, and what to eat and how often
and please post pics

06/12/10  06:59am

JackAsp
View Profile

Message To: Corbinscoots   In reference to Message Id: 2155117

New to collards !!!

At least a 40 breeder. My own experience is that they’re happier in 40 breeders than 55s, because the 55 is so narrow, but if you have room for a 75 (or even bigger) you won’t regret using it.

Night temps aren’t critical, but the cage floor has to get into the upper 80s quickly once the lights click on. People bicker a little about how hot the hot spot needs to be, but don’t be afraid of makng it HOT. Especially in the morning they will often choose areas mjuch warmer than they’re "supposed to," over the more traditional 105 degrees. Seriously, their first basking is usually at 120 degrees or more, and I’ve seen them even use spots in the lower 150s. Mine have two basking platforms, one that’s about 105-108 and one that’s usually about 135 at its hottest point. They eat great, breed every year without hibernating, and have no difficulty whatsoever passing either chiton or sand. I think the hotter option allows them better control, because they can quickly warm up one body part without having to sit there and heat up everything else if they don’t want to.