Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Collard Lizards Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Collard Lizards Forum

Ashleecobug   JackAsp  
 Member  Message

Ashleecobug
View Profile

Im new to this

i just get my lizard the day before christmas and i do not kno that much on them so if someone would like to help me out that would be every nice.

12/27/09  03:21pm

JackAsp
View Profile

Message To: Ashleecobug   In reference to Message Id: 2108374

Im new to this

Big cages. An adult should have at least three feet of cage length. Some individuals may need four. At least a foot of width and at least a foot of height, usually more. The 40 gallon breeder is the most popular tank for them, although some people prefer the 55, which has fewer square inches of floor space but an extra foot of length.

They need a regular day/night cycle, so plug the lights into a timer.

Ground temperature during the day should be at least 86. Some will prefer a little bit warmer. At night, room temperature is fine unless you’tr one of those loonies that keep their house 50 or 60 degrees.

Playsand makes a good substrate. They’re one of the few lizards which that’s true of, actually. If they’re warm and healthy they eat and poop constantly, often two or three poops a day, and sand is easier to spot-clean than ripping apart the whole setup and changing paper constantly. I’ve seen all kinds of skimming toold sold for that erxact purpose, but believe it or not the thing that actually works best is one of those aquarium-skimming nets like you’d use to remove a dead goldfish.