Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Chameleons Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Chameleons Forum

Carpmoto   LunaC   Jonas77   LunaC   Carpmoto   LunaC   Sirexzilla   Jonas77  
 Member  Message

Carpmoto
View Profile

Enclosure advice - Veiled cam

OK folks...just purchased a baby (4in body) male veiled cam. My experience is with corns and beardies...so I’m not a newbie to reptiles. I know the little guys like lots of foliage, I also have a drip watering device already as well.

What I want to do is get one cage that will house my new friend for life. So I’m looking at various styles of screened enclosures, the traditional upright versions or the new horizontal ones. I’m wondering which is more "natural" if there is such a thing. Size wise I’m thinking...

Upright should be... 24in (60cm) x 24in (60cm) x 36in (100cm) or is 18in x 18in x 36in (one size smaller) is good enough?

or

Horizontal...18in H x 18in D x 36in L/W or do I need bigger 24in H x 24in D x 48in L/W

Looking for experienced advice on this and any other insider info on veiled’s...Thanks everyone, JC

02/24/11  01:21pm

LunaC
View Profile

Message To: Carpmoto   In reference to Message Id: 2206701

Chams are arboreal. Vertical height is always more important than width. They like to be as high off the ground as they can.

My adult Veileds and Panthers are in both the 18 X 18 X 36 and 24 X 24 X 48 verticals.

Babies always go in smaller cages (12 x 12 x 18, generally) until they are juveniles. Smaller cages for babies are important in that you can regulate their temps, humidity and food intake better.

02/24/11  02:05pm

Jonas77
View Profile

Message To: LunaC   In reference to Message Id: 2206711

It sound like its not really a baby, rather a "juvenile".