Back to Centipedes-Millipedes Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Centipedes-Millipedes Forum

Suspect187   Cacoseraph   Suspect187   Cacoseraph  
 Member  Message

Suspect187
View Profile

Help selecting a centipede

Hi,

I have been keeping an emperor scorpion for a couple of months now and decided I want to add to the collection. I find centipedes very interesting so I was wondering, what type of centipedes require low levels of humidity? As in less that 80% or 70%. Reading through this forum, I noticed that many people have problems with mites due to the moist environment some centipedes require. This is why I would like a desert or whatever centipede requires low humidity. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Pics as well if you could. Thank you.

11/17/06  04:04am

Cacoseraph
View Profile

Message To: Suspect187   In reference to Message Id: 1063670

well, even desert centipedes live in fairly moist microhabitats so there really isnít a dry centipede, exactly.

but, if you are in the united states a great starter centiepde would be Scolopendra polymorpha. They are perfectly fine with a waterdish only, but i tend to keep mine on slightly moist substrate as i feel it is less stressful than constanly losing and replenishing water in a completely dry container.

Also, "bluering" or "blueleg" centipedes make good starters. They are sold as Scolopendra sp. or S. morsitans but are a completely different genus, Ethmostigmus. They are among the most docile centipedes i have found yet and get to a decent size (5-6" bodylength and both males and females can get pretty chunky).

11/17/06  04:44pm

Suspect187
View Profile

Message To: Cacoseraph   In reference to Message Id: 1064093