Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to CarpetPythons Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

CarpetPythons Forum

Tomias01   Tomias01   Baylor13   King_Boa   Baylor13  
 Member  Message

Tomias01
View Profile

Enclosure size

Hey all, I am new to pythons, and a guy i know that works at petsmart is selling his carpet. Its seven foot long and was just wondering how large an enclosure i should build for it. I asked him but i do not think he nows his stuff as he says the python is happy in a 20 gal long aquarium. I know this isnt right because my coastal hatchling is only 2 1/2 feet and thats what i keep him in, i couldn’t imagine what that poor snake is going through.

please help as i would love to rescue the snake from its current owner, i just want to make sure it isnt going to be worse off here.

12/23/10  09:18pm

Tomias01
View Profile

Message To: Tomias01   In reference to Message Id: 2194077

Enclosure size

Well, the guy dropped the snake off today in a large sterilite tub he had drilled holes in and put an undertank heater on. I already have a nice boaphile tank on order for it and that should be here in a week or so, and heres pics of J.D. the carpet python.

I wouldn’t normally use gloves, but the snake was rather testy and had to change the newspaper in the tub. Only struck once though and when i got him/her in my hands he/she calmed down immediately.

01/09/11  06:16pm

Baylor13
View Profile

Message To: Tomias01   In reference to Message Id: 2197336

Enclosure size

This is my cage for mine. She is 7ft long and the cage is 4ft tall 3ft wide and 1ft deep. It has a blanket rack in there for her to climb on and some branches. They love to climb if given the chance!

01/12/11  07:16pm

King_Boa
View Profile

Message To: Baylor13   In reference to Message Id: 2197917

Enclosure size

I like the cage setup, do you know any sites that like sale some similar to this size, something like for your room thats large enough for an adult??