Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Bull-Pine-Gopher Snakes Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Bull-Pine-Gopher Snakes Forum

Just Curious~   Tupi1   Just Curious~   Just Curious~   Tupi1   Just Curious~   Cphill58   Greatballzofire   Just Curious~   Just Curious~   Cphill58   Just Curious~   Just Curious~   Just Curious~  
 Member  Message

Just Curious~
View Profile

LOTS of pics of my amel pacific gophers & enclosure! Opinions?

Lets see here, this is my first time posting pictures....You’ve probably seen a few questions from me though~

This is the female, Carmen, named after the French opera. She’s about 4’3"

and this is the male, Phoenix, named because....well he’s orange like fire and I’m uncreative. He’s about 4’ on the nose.

He’s the pain in my butt that hasn’t eaten for 3 months now! *shakes fist*

Both are completely nonaggressive, handle well and never offered to bite even in stressful situations. They do have spunk though, especially the female. Both rattle their tails and hiss a bit, but she’ll lash out and give a "roar" of a hiss if she’s real annoyed.

Here’s a pic of Phoenix’s enclosure

I was trying to get it while he was drinking, but he stopped to give me a look. Little brat. ;p

and another

You can’t see it there, but there’s another tube right alongside the glass.

Here’s a closeup of him chillin from that last pic

This is him curled up in his "twigaloo"

I didn’t even think he’d like that, but he seems comfortable there.

Now you may notice that his enclosure is a little scraggly. I’ve given up on making it look orderly, he just burrows too much. He goes under anything and just displaces everything. He clumps up the bedding in some places and exposes the flooring in others.
Is that bad? Should I change his bedding? It doesn’t seem to be hurting anything...

Okay now here’s Carmen’s

Diff angle