Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Bull-Pine-Gopher Snakes Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Bull-Pine-Gopher Snakes Forum

Occ1123   Greatballzofire  
 Member  Message

Occ1123
View Profile

1st Clutch Ever! Experience so far and Q’s...

Hey guys,

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything (I think a couple years!), but I think this is worth posting just beacause it is my first time breeding any of my own snakes and it happends to be Pituophis.

My ’07 Female Stillwater Hypo was bred this year by my ’07 Male 100% Het Stillwater Hypo Bull Snake beginning on 3/21/09 after a 3 month brumation from 12/19/09 to 3/14/10. I observed constant breeding attempts by the male immediately after introducing them, but never saw a lockup (obviously not incredibly unusual). On 5/15/10 she shed for the 1st time since cooling and then refused food the follwing week (5/22/10).
Then, very early on 5/29/10 (13 days after shedding and just a week past 2 months since I put the pair together for the first time) she began laying eggs.
She ended up passing what appear to 7 fertile eggs, 6 slugs, and 1 iffy looking one. About 3 hours after laying her last egg (over 12 hours since she started laying) she still had what looked like one more eggs left inside her which she had given up trying to lay. With the recommendation of a very experienced breeder, I proceeded to push the egg out for her, which turned out to be another slug.

The next day (5/30/10) I noticed another bulge at her cloaca, which I also pushed out for her as she still seemed to exhausted to push it out herself...another slug.
Then today (5/31/10) I found a tiny slug (much smaller than even the other slugs) in her bin.

I’m hoping now, with a total of 7 good, 9 slugs, and 1 maybe, she is actually done, but with the slug surprise today...I can’t be sure.