Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Boas Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Boas Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Member  Message

MLee78
View Profile

Emerald Tree Boa Question...

I have had "exotics" - anything that’s not going to be found in your local PetsMart/PetCo - for a while...right around 25 years, nothing venomous since the kids came along, and feel like a complete newbie to ask this question, HOWEVER... After remodeling the house, decided I wanted an upright, multi cage unit and put rare and beautiful snakes in there that aren’t incredibly hard to maintain in captivity. By that I mean, easy to get right temp/humidity, get to eat regularly, and easy enough to handle to remove for feeding/cage cleaning. I’ve selected 2 of the 3 species, and torn on the third. In the past, I have had a few Amazon Tree boas and a Cooks Tree boa...2 of the Amazons I had were ABSOLUTELY INSANE...one was mellow when trying to remove for cleaning etc. The Cooks was a craps shoot what sorta mood you were going to catch him in. I have had a beautiful blue Green Tree Python put on hold for me from a friend and local breeder, and it is pretty mellow as well (although it has just changed into that color from their juvenile coloring and has been held regularly. I know anything "Tree" in it, can have a tendency to be a bit aggro & snippy, but I am wanting to add a nice Emerald Tree Boa to the last spot in the enclosure, but before I do, was wondering what other’s experiences are/have been with them. Are they as bat-s*#t "crazy" as the 2 Amazons, or are they a little more "domesticated" for lack of a better word, or naturally a bit more mellow? For example, the first Amazon Tree, would see my friend (ironically usually just him, but always him) walk past his enclosure and start striking the glass like a mad man. Then got the Cooks, 50/50, but didn’t want to take to long handling him or he would get grumpy.