Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Boas Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Boas Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Reptilesteph17   Xkabx   Spencer206   Designer Dragons   Fire4life   T-pain   Xkabx  

Member  Message

Reptilesteph17
View Profile

I’m getting a sand boa, what are the things i must know or need?

I’m getting a sand boa, i’ve always owned lizards so this will be my first sanke, so i need info or advise on what i need or what to expect from a sand boa

i have: 30gl tank red 100wts bulb ceramic deep dome and under tank heater calci sand.

please give me advise or tips on owning a sand boa this will be my very first snake

02/24/11  11:30am

Xkabx
View Profile

Message To: Reptilesteph17   In reference to Message Id: 2206677

i have very little experience and have never even heard of the snake you are getting, when i got a snake i just read as much as i could, im still reading as much as i can. i now have two snakes and they are the best pets ive ever had. from what ive done and what ive read the best advice i have is to be patient, they eat when they want not when you want. and just find out the proper temps and humidity, your snake will not eat if its not comfortable, so setup your tank and mess around till everything is perfect before you get the snake home. also i had a bad experience when i got my 2nd snake he died after only 2 days, no way to tell how he died but i believe it was a combination of he hadnt eaten and i stressed him, dont underestimate stress, and it came come from simply looking at a snake. the guy who gave me the snake said he thought it might not make it(what a jerkstore) and gave me a replacement(kinda cool of him). when i got the replacement home i put bristol board on all sides of his tank and took the front piece down inch by inch until a week later it was off the tank and he was cool. i didnt even attempt handling for a week. good luck