Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Boas-Breeding Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Boas-Breeding Forum

Terriwest88   Fairy Frog Mother   Bciaddict   Terriwest88   Jere000  
 Member  Message

Terriwest88
View Profile

New to breeding world

I have owned snakes for some time and know the basics and then some, but i am completely new to the genetics in depth as well as the breeding. I have 3 red tails, 2 of which were given to me by a guy that was shipping to Iraq, anyways.. They are supposed to be a proven 1005 het for albino set, not proven breeding as because they are just now reaching maturity age, both about 3-4 yrs of age 6ft female and about 5ft male. They have been in the same enclosure now for 5 months, and i am now thinking of breeding. I have been reading up on as much as i can find. Most things state that they should have never been put together until time of wanting to breed. Do i still have a chance? And can anyone give me the run down on what i should do to start etc? and also any info on what they should produce, everything i have read so far says that the litter should be at least half albinos..thanks!

02/25/10  11:33am

Fairy Frog Mother
View Profile

Message To: Terriwest88   In reference to Message Id: 2126981

New to breeding world

They are visual normals but one parent was albino I take it?
From my understanding, and I know the breeders here will correct me if Im wrong, a proven pair means they have been bred and some babies have come out albino.
100% het means they both carry the Albino gene and you know this for certain because they have a parent who is albino, and the other parent is a proven het albino.

Breeding a normal colored Het Albino (100% just means you know for certain it carries the albino gene) with another Het Albino should give you (statistically speaking) 25% Albino babies. Not 50. To get 50% you would need to breed your het Albino to an albino.