Back to Bearded Dragons-Breeding Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Bearded Dragons-Breeding Forum

Kpelch   BeardiePal   DragonSpirit  
 Member  Message

Kpelch
View Profile

First Clutch ~ One Hatchling Deformed Leg and White Powdery Coloring

Hello All,

This is my first time posting. After much research our family became the happy owners of both a male and female adult bearded dragons in December (both rescues, one from a pet store and one from an owner who didn’t have enough time for her).

Emma is our queen and her king is Galileo (my sons choices). Emma’s first clutch just hatched. She laid 15 eggs, 4 did not make it 10 hatched and we have one that is pending? Still unhatched but doesn’t look bad.

Our second to last hatch-ling took about 5 days longer than her mates to hatch out and there are a few problems. She (I us the female term here but have no idea yet is she’s male or female) came out with her front left leg twisted behind her and she tries to use it. The foot portion turns up and her color from her tail up is powdery white, her tail is normal in color. My husband seems to think the the umbilicus was wrapped around her body because it looks as if there was a band on her at the point where her coloring changes.

I really want her to make it, any ideas on helping with the leg and the strange color? She seems to be eating ok, a little slower than the rest of the hatch-lings but I make sure she gets her share.

Any and all ideas and thoughts would be great. Technically our beardies are my 10 year old sons (who takes awesome care of them btw) but they are family pets that we all take care of and love!

06/26/11  12:29pm

BeardiePal
View Profile

Message To: Kpelch   In reference to Message Id: 2226693