Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Basilisks Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Basilisks Forum

Rypet23   Frillz   Rypet23   LP   Rypet23   Shortiegirl   Rypet23   Shortiegirl   Rypet23   Shortiegirl  
 Member  Message

Rypet23
View Profile

New basilisk need help

i was at a reptile show yesterday and saw these poor brown bassilisks. they were all under weight and clearly malnourished. so i took a chance and bought one. im guessing on the age but i would say hes 2 yrs or so.he seems to not want to put pressure om his front right foot. he trys to use it when he climbs but not that well. i was hoping for some advice. i am a certified vet technician and will be taking x_rays tomorrow. i was thinking liquid calcium would help but i know of know other treatment. any suggestions would be helpful. what could i offer to help fatten this guy up. thanks

01/21/08  11:04am

Frillz
View Profile

Message To: Rypet23   In reference to Message Id: 1588054

New basilisk need help

i got my brown basilisk for the same reason, shes 20inchs and she looked kinda skinny on her hind legs, and on the right one she has MBD she cant bend it all the way back or stretch it out fully, when she runs she starts drifting off too the side.

but i was reccomended a calcium spray, you spray on the food and let it dry for 15min and then feed it too the basilisk, and have a good uv light of somekind...hope i helped
~ON3~

01/22/08  01:24am

Rypet23
View Profile

Message To: Rypet23   In reference to Message Id: 1588054

New basilisk need help