Anoles Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Anoles Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

AcuteAngle   AcuteAngle   AmbuBadger   AcuteAngle   AmbuBadger  

Member  Message

AcuteAngle
View Profile

Sick Anole Help Please

My green anole has his mouth hanging open and there’s something black inside (I think it’s dirt probably). He’s not moving much and has his eyes closed. I tried spraying him with water and he’ll usually move when waters sprayed on him but this time he didn’t. I can’t figure out whats wrong??

Also I haven’t had a chance to get more crickets for him recently so he’s been starving for maybe 4 days now could that be the problem?
Mist his tank 2-3 times daily and inside the tank is humid. This is my first time owning a lizard please help.

Thanks in advance.

03/23/17  12:42pm

AcuteAngle
View Profile

Message To: AcuteAngle   In reference to Message Id: 2320492

Sick Anole Help Please

Btw i had just gotten food for him today and he has not eaten a single bite.

03/23/17  12:44pm

AmbuBadger
View Profile

Message To: AcuteAngle   In reference to Message Id: 2320492

Sick Anole Help Please

Try using a flashlight to get a better look inside-- it could be something stuck in there or dried blood/scab from an injury. He could also have his mouth open to make breathing easier if he had a respiratory infection. Can you upload a pic of him? Don’t worry about him not eating-- four days between meals will not make him starve, depending how much he had last. What does he normally eat, how much, how often, and are you dusting his food with vitamin or calcium powder? What does he have for lighting? Heat and UVB? What’s his color like? As for his overall condition, does he look dehydrated, are his rear legs plump or skinny? Can you see the outline of his ribs (that’s normal for a healthy anole)?

Regarding his apartment, what kind of plants and substrate do you have? Is there a hot and cold side for him?