Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Anoles-Breeding Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Anoles-Breeding Forum

Seiryu1   Seiryu1   AnoleQueeeeen   AnoleQueeeeen   AnoleQueeeeen   Seiryu1   AnoleQueeeeen   Baja   AnoleQueeeeen  
 Member  Message

Seiryu1
View Profile

A few questions - small anole

Hey guys. I have a few questions. About 1.5 months ago, a friend of mine was working at home depot. They got in an order of plants and all of a sudden 2 anoles were running all over the floor at the store.

He caught one, couldn’t find the other. Anyways I decided to keep the anole myself knowing that the store would likely terminate the little guy. I have 15+ years reptile experience. Right now he’s in a 10 gallon. 50-70% humidity, 85-88 basking and 70-75 cool side. Fake plants for climbing. 5.0 tube light.

He is eating the smaller flightless fruit-flies. Actually upon reading, we may have a girl (light stripe down the back). I got some of the bigger flies and he’s probably just small enough to not be able to eat them, no biggy I have a chameleon that will!

He eats between 5-9 of these smaller flies a day. Vitamin supplement once a week, with calcium 3 times a week.

He’s 2.5 inches including tail. Not sure what he was when I got him but can’t imagine too much smaller.

What we don’t know is how old he/she is other than I have had him for 1.5 months. Hasn’t grown much (shed a few pieces), but I know these guys don’t grow amazingly fast.

How old are they when they reach adult-hood and how big can they get? Not even really sure if he’s a brown or green. But I’ve never seen him turn green yet, always brown.

Looking forward to the responses, thanks!

10/15/11  05:03pm

Seiryu1
View Profile

Message To: Seiryu1   In reference to Message Id: 2240619

Sorry guys, could a mod delete this? I posted in the wrong section somehow.

10/15/11  05:30pm

AnoleQueeeeen
View Profile

Message To: Seiryu1   In reference to Message Id: 2240622