Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Alligators-Crocodiles Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Alligators-Crocodiles Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Padeerslayer   Tbone21   Padeerslayer   Padeerslayer   Riggs   Padeerslayer   Philosopher  

Member  Message

Padeerslayer
View Profile

Calling all experienced American Alligator handlers

Let me explain my story before you criticize and ridicule me. I am a newbie to alligator handling, however I am prepared for the long haul with my new buddy. I have spent many years learning about them and now finally own one . To make a long story short I was he was given to me do to his owners sudden death, by his family. He is approx. 2 years old and he is 3’3" long, he is in what seems to be very good health, he is not aggressive,he loves to lay on us and just chill, I do tape him per instructions from the owners wife, she said he gets aggressive if he is not.
The first question I have is he will not eat and all the temps are perfect, I understand they are a little sluggish eating in the winter months however he was eating prior to bringing into my home. I’m not sure if he is just getting used to his new surroundings or what the deal is. Please help me out on this ?
The next question is he needs his nails trimmed , unfortunately I do not believe the were ever trimmed before. How short should they be trimmed ?
The next is about his enclosure. They have kept him in custom 86 gal. enclosure. Its time for a new one but I must build it quickly, is a temporary enclosure 5’ x 4’ OK for him until I prepare and construct a much larger enclosure 8’x8’ in the spring time . I want him to stay happy and healthy.
At last when we scratch his back he seems to love it, he becomes very calm and limp as if he is saying "Ill give you forever to stop that" and he chirps as I have read that juveniles do .What does that chirping mean?

01/11/12  12:16am

Tbone21
View Profile