Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Alligators-Crocodiles Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Goodboa   Nile/water monitors   Thesnakeman  

Member  Message

Goodboa
View Profile

Working with aggressive alligator

I’m new here, and new to reptile care.

I do not have an alligator as a pet, but i care for one at work. I take care of a collection of herptiles at my university and one of my charges is an alligator that is JUST under 4 feet and weighs about 18 pounds. He is kept in a large vivarium where he has lots of room to walk around and has a large pond to swim in.

I have been caring for him for approximately two months and we just changed his diet from mice to rats. I used to feed him twice a week. Due to his behavior, we’ve cut back to one feeding a week.

But he has lately become very aggressive and i want to curb this behavior immediately. I occasionally have to actually handle him, and I’d rather not get bit. I know i can’t just yell at him or train him like a dog...but i wonder if he’s testing me an pushing my limits to see what he can get away with. Do alligators behave that way? I know they aren’t dumb and can certainly learn, so how do i show him i’m boss without getting hurt?

He used to run and dive into the pond when i would enter the enclosure, but now he holds his ground and hisses at me until i poke him with something. Then he runs, but sometimes he stands up, faces me and hisses. Once he charged a very short distance, but backed down and eventually ran away. When i pick him up, he thrashes and hisses. I’m not so sure he is actually snapping at me or not, but his mouth came quite close to my arm last time i held him.

When i feed him, i usually put on waders and actually stand in the pond and feed him with a tongs.