Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Alligators-Crocodiles Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Alligators-Crocodiles Forum

Reptiman1   Pe   Nile/water monitors   Venom6547   Christoff   Nile/water monitors  
 Member  Message

Reptiman1
View Profile

Alligators

Is it true that if you put a alligator in a small tank it wont out grow the tank. i heard this from someone else but wanted to make sure. please dont flame me

05/11/10  10:38pm

Pe
View Profile

Message To: Reptiman1   In reference to Message Id: 2146866

Alligators

I’m not an alligator expert but I have worked with small gators in rescues down here in Florida. I do not believe that statement is true. I believe your alligator will outgrow it’s enclosures as do other reptiles. I believe these statement come from housing fish in smaller aquariums, that they only grow to the size of the aquarium.

PE

05/12/10  01:26am

Nile/water monitors
View Profile

Message To: Pe   In reference to Message Id: 2146884

Alligators

PE is right, you can’t stunt a gators growth. You would have as much luck stunning a gators growth as putting a baby elephant in the back yard shed and thinking it will stay small:) Its funny that old myth is still being repeated.

05/12/10  07:44am

Venom6547
View Profile

Message To: Reptiman1   In reference to Message Id: 2146866

Alligators

an alligator will out grow its aquarium fish tank whatever thing it is just a myth that if you put it in a small tank it will stay small. what will happen is the gator will get sick and be in a lot of pain because it has no room to do anything so please do not believe that putting a 1ft alligator in a 75gal tank will keep it that big because i started off with a 75gal tank and my gator was 11inches when i got him a month ago now he is close to 17inches and that’s with feeding him small mice every other day

07/22/10  03:10pm

Christoff
View Profile

Message To: Venom6547   In reference to Message Id: 2164396

Alligators