Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Alligator Lizards Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Alligator Lizards Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

BulbasuarBabe24   Acre   BulbasuarBabe24   Acre  

Member  Message

BulbasuarBabe24
View Profile

First reptile, first post.. Did I do it right??

Hi! This is my first time posting here. This is also my first reptile, however I’ve taken care of many other animals, so I’m confident that I can properly care for this one!

I was taking a picture of some pretty mushrooms when this northwestern Alligator lizard crawled on to my hand. It freaked me out for a second because I thought she(?) Was a snake! Anyways, all research I’ve read stated that wild alligator lizards are shy and try to run away and bite if you try to pick them up. So maybe she was someone’s pet? She lost her tail also, is there any special requirements for me to help her grow it back? She also hasn’t eaten any crickets or king worms since I’ve had her (yesterday 3/15/18).

I bought her a uvb light bulb (in a normal lamp, planning on getting a dome lamp thing). She also has lots of dirt, a log hide, a basking rock, and a shallow water dish. Oh, and a grass plant for cover. She’s currently in a 10gallon tank, but I’m going to get a 20g when Petco gets it $1 per gallon sale.

Is there any tips, suggestions, or comments? Am I doing it right? Can you tell how old she is? And if it really is a she? Does the look healthy?

Thanks!

03/16/18  07:43pm

Acre
View Profile

Message To: BulbasuarBabe24   In reference to Message Id: 2322142