Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to Alligator Lizards Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Nevlonniel   Acre  

Member  Message

Nevlonniel
View Profile

QUESTIONS! New to alligator lizard onwership

Hi there!

I’m new to alligator lizard ownership, and want to be sure I’m caring for my little guy/gal correctly.

I have been reading ALL the care sheets here (thank goodness for the internet).

To give a run-down of what I know and have done:

* Southern Alligator Lizard (caught in Costa Mesa, CA)

* I suspect it’s a female, simply because it truly has a very mild temperment. But still being a juvenile, I’m not sure. It’s about 5-6" long, caught this past April 2017. (It’s already shed it’s skin once while we’ve had it, shortly after it came into our home and we caught it.)

NOTE: I bought the Zilla Basic Desert starter kit --it was on sale-- simply for ease: https://www.zillarules.com/all-products/terrariums/desert-starter-kit. We’d had it in a small plastic cage for a month, and finally got around to getting a proper home for it.

*I’m using the reptile "carpet" the kit came with. However, I have provided sticks, rocks, and fake greenery, along with a purchased "sunning" rock that also has a hidey hole in it. (I read that alligator lizards do not sun themselves like other lizards, and prefer to sun themselves under partial shade. I made a makeshift bamboo-straw shade, over the "sunning" rock, under the day light bulb, from an old bamboo-straw shade in our backyard, where I find several alligator lizards "sunning" themselves underneath through the partial shade.

* I bought a large, shallow water dish for it to drink and wade in.

QUESTION 1: Is it necessary to get a separate dish for drinking? Or can one dish be used for both drinking and wading?