*Lizards-General Forum

Click Here To Register and Become A Member Of The RepticZone Family  

Back to *Lizards-General Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Sinchobe   Cphill58   Sinchobe   Sinchobe   Cphill58   Cphill58   Sinchobe  

Member  Message

Sinchobe
View Profile

Uromastyx, Crested Gecko/Gargoyle

Hi everyone, newbie here. I’m looking into getting one of the above, I’ve done research and I just can’t decide, I plan on doing more research and I’m not planning on just impulse buying one right away. I’m basically hoping to decide on one so I can prepare towards it.

Here are a few things that influence my decision.

My main desire was for a Uromastyx, after researching however, I’m not sure if that is the right decision or not. I know that all together it will cost more, that isn’t an issue. One problem I have is that I’m not so sure if I want a lizard that can be handled a bit or not, it sounds very appealing and I know Uros are usually not ones for handling. It is a slight put off but not a deal breaker as I don’t know if handling will be something that I necessarily need once I own one.

My main concern is the heating/lighting. I live in an apartment where the enclosure would be placed in either the living room or my bedroom, the problem is that I have to parrots, a budgie and a conure, I don’t trust them not to fly on top of the enclosure out of curiousity at some point and potentially harm themselves by touching one of the heating lamps or lights. (They peck at their own FS lights when on top of their cage as they like their reflection in shiny things, but their FS lamps don’t emit much heat and aren’t on for very long) This is the main thing putting me off of a Uro, unless someone can think of a suggestion to prevent my fears, such as a certain type of fixture or setup where the lamps wouldn’t be exposed. Then I’d be all ears!