Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to *General-Information Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

*General-Information Forum

GahanMan   Poncho   Darkling   Aka-chan92   Aka-chan92   Snake_Hunter91   Bruce Cates   REL JJA   REL JJA   REL JJA   Ameivaboy   Lizzie_105   Sixer   Kyle Frogpants  
 Member  Message

GahanMan
View Profile

How do I become a herpetologist???????

Im in my last year of HS and would like to become a herpetologist...

what should I do after HS,what should I take?????

09/23/04  09:01pm

Poncho
View Profile

Message To: GahanMan   In reference to Message Id: 148138

there are two ways to become an herpetologist, to study to become a veterinary or to study to become a biologist.
As a vet you will know how to take care of them in any sort of medical situation, as a biologist you will learn all about their biology, this is anatomy, physiology, behavior, environment, ecology, sistematics, and also where to find them, how to catch them, etc
I am studying biology to become an herpetologist, however you should know that you wont study exclusively herps, you will study a lot about other stuff you might not like. I myself hate molecular biology and have to study a lot about it

09/24/04  02:17am

Darkling
View Profile

Message To: Poncho   In reference to Message Id: 148271

Hello ;) I was wondering the same question. I want to become a zoolgist
I’m also in high school takeing biology (pritty good at it hehe) and i read that i would have to take at least a 2 year biology course in collage/university, but whats that all about. can i choose to only study animals and there behavorial patterns or do i have to take EVERYTHING... and i’m extremely bad at chem & physic’s so what do i do, I would appreciate your advice. thanxs 4 ur time.

01/04/05  09:21pm

Aka-chan92
View Profile

i want 2 be a herpetologist 2 but i dont know what kind of education is required

04/05/05  04:25pm

Aka-chan92
View Profile